Log in
Show password
Forgot password ?
Become a member for free
Sign up
Sign up
New member
Sign up for FREE
New customer
Discover our services
Dynamic quotes 
News: Latest News
Latest NewsCompaniesMarketsEconomy & ForexCommoditiesInterest RatesBusiness LeadersFinance Pro.CalendarSectors 
All NewsEconomyCurrencies & ForexEconomic EventsCryptocurrenciesCybersecurityPress Releases

U.S. issues 'Do Not Travel' advisory for eight African countries

11/27/2021 | 02:07pm EST

WASHINGTON, Nov 27 (Reuters) - The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and State Department on Saturday advised against travel to eight southern African countries after the White House announced new travel restrictions in response to a new COVID-19 variant.

The CDC raised its travel recommendation to "Level Four: Very High" for South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Mozambique, Malawi, Lesotho, Eswatini and Botswana while the State Department issued parallel "Do Not Travel" advisories Saturday. On Monday, the CDC had lowered its COVID-19 travel advisory for South Africa to "Level 1: Low" from "Level 3: High"

Of the eight countries, only Botswana was previously listed as "Level 4."

Omicron, dubbed a "variant of concern" by the World Health Organization, is potentially more contagious than previous variants of the disease, although experts do not know yet if it will cause more or less severe COVID-19 compared to other strains. It could take weeks for scientists to fully understand the variant's mutations and whether existing vaccines and treatments are effective against it.

The discovery of the variant has sparked global concern, a wave of travel bans or curbs and a sell-off on financial markets on Friday as investors worried that Omicron could stall a global recovery from the nearly two-year pandemic.

The new variant prompted the White House to announce Friday it would bar nearly all foreign nationals who have been in any of eight countries within the last 14 days from flying to the United States effective Monday at 12:01 a.m. ET (0500 GMT). Travelers on flights that depart before that time will be allowed to land in the United States. But foreign nationals must be vaccinated and have tested negative within three days.

Britain detected two cases of the new Omicron coronavirus variant on Saturday, even as Australia and other countries joined nations imposing restrictions on travel from southern Africa in an effort to stop its spread.

The variant was first discovered in South Africa and had also since been detected in Belgium, Botswana, Israel and Hong Kong.

A U.S. official told Reuters Friday the Biden administration could also add other countries to the travel curb list if the variant spreads. The United States only lifted travel restrictions on South Africa and 32 other countries on Nov. 8. (Reporting by David Shepardson; editing by Diane Craft)

© Reuters 2021
Latest news "Economy & Forex"
03:03aSpain's unemployment rate falls to 13.33% in Q4, lowest since 2008
03:01aStellantis to raise stake in China JV with GAC to 75%
02:58aNow or never? European banks eye comeback against Wall Street
02:58aRouble recovers from near 15-mth low, traders focus on Ukraine tensions
02:55aAnglo American posts flat Q4 overall output, sees higher copper in 2022
02:54aUK competition regulator probes Clayton $10 billion deal for Morrisons
02:50aSt James's Place assets surpass $200 billion as inflows keep coming
02:50aNew Honduras leader says she hopes to maintain Taiwan ties
02:50aJob-seekers burn train coaches in India after alleged flaws in railway recruitment
02:48aEU challenges China at WTO over trade curbs on Lithuania
Latest news "Economy & Forex"